How would you have reacted?

CMAC

Blackballed
Banned
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
15,121
Visit site
How would you have honestly reacted to this situation?

4BBB knockout against two cat 1's that didn't say much, plus it took us weeks to arrange the game under their terms only, they had already demanded to change the course (against the rules), but we managed to get them to change back.

Anyway, it was pleasant enough during the round and any chat we tried to instigate was met with short replies.

So we are 2 up with 4 to play, my partner and 1 opponent is out the hole. I'm on in 2 about 12 feet away, opponent is off the green in 2 about 18 feet and wants to putt the ball. There is a sprinkler head between his ball and his intended line about 5 feet away. He wants relief. I said relief is only given if it interferes with his swing or stance, he then stretches his left leg out to stand on the sprinkler head and said "do I get relief now?" Bearing in mind his foot is now blocking his intended line now I ignored that point and stated politely that this was not his normal stance.

He picks up his ball, said "that's it" held out his hand for a token shake and him and his partner walked off and started walking in without a further word! My buddy asked whats the rules on us playing in as we'd never played the course before? "Do what you want" was the reply as they kept walking.

How would you have honestly reacted to this behaviour?
 
How would you have honestly reacted to this situation?

4BBB knockout against two cat 1's that didn't say much, plus it took us weeks to arrange the game under their terms only, they had already demanded to change the course (against the rules), but we managed to get them to change back.

Anyway, it was pleasant enough during the round and any chat we tried to instigate was met with short replies.

So we are 2 up with 4 to play, my partner and 1 opponent is out the hole. I'm on in 2 about 12 feet away, opponent is off the green in 2 about 18 feet and wants to putt the ball. There is a sprinkler head between his ball and his intended line about 5 feet away. He wants relief. I said relief is only given if it interferes with his swing or stance, he then stretches his left leg out to stand on the sprinkler head and said "do I get relief now?" Bearing in mind his foot is now blocking his intended line now I ignored that point and stated politely that this was not his normal stance.

He picks up his ball, said "that's it" held out his hand for a token shake and him and his partner walked off and started walking in without a further word! My buddy asked whats the rules on us playing in as we'd never played the course before? "Do what you want" was the reply as they kept walking.

How would you have honestly reacted to this behaviour?

Wouldve told him to pick his dummy up on his way back to the clubhouse and finished the course off laughing my head off at the pair of them personally, then Id have made some slightly too loud comments once in the bar :)
 
Wow, i cannot believe grown men actually act like this out on the course.

I probably would've just pmsl at them then went on the internet and named & shamed them!!
 
I take it that they conceded the match?

If so, I'd take the win and let the opposition get on with it, their loss not yours. I wouldn't bother trying to talk to them in any way, I'd just ignore them and be chuffed that I/we'd won.
 
I would have laughed and thought what an idiot, clearly a bad loser.
Strangely you can get relief from a sprinkler head if you are off the green and intend to put, even if it does not interfer with swing or stance. I think that providing the sprinkler head is within 1 club length of the green and that the golf ball is within 1 club length of the sprinkler head you get relief.
So anyway if I am correct then you were right to not give relief.
 
I would have laughed and thought what an idiot, clearly a bad loser.
Strangely you can get relief from a sprinkler head if you are off the green and intend to put, even if it does not interfer with swing or stance. I think that providing the sprinkler head is within 1 club length of the green and that the golf ball is within 1 club length of the sprinkler head you get relief.
So anyway if I am correct then you were right to not give relief.

Not quite true, there is an option for a club/comp to introduce a local rule for this but it is not a rule of golf without the LR

http://www.randa.org/en/Rules-and-A...unning-a-Competition.aspx?chapter=2&section=8
 
It came up last year I think when I was watching some European Tour Golf. Wayne Riley was surprised by the relief given, he made reference to Paul Lawrie being in the group and having some association with the R&A.

Doesnt make it a rule of golf and mean you can always have the relief
 
Would have shaken their hand and thanked them for the game then walked away smiling
 
Very strange as they are still in the hole and the match. Obviously pressure got to him, bottled it and threw the toys out of the pram over nothing. Did his PP not step in and say hang on a minute partner? Clearly not and I would have been well cheesed off with him, but then I wouldn't play with a guy who behaved in such a way. I trust there was not a pint shared afterwards with some friendly banter. Anyway well done CMAC.
 
We have an lr allowing relief from a sprinkler on your line within 2cl
 
I love to watch those "far too serious" players lose their heads when things don't go their way, always makes me chuckle. Best things is, it's never their fault, always someone else's.
Great story btw.
 
I'd of happily accepted their concession and played in, in the knowledge that you were spot on in your ruling!
 
Top