How long?

Knocker

Medal Winner
Visit site
Hi guys.

I am pretty new to golf and have been consistently lowering my scores from about 110 when I started to recently shooting mid to high 90s in about 5 months.

I thought I would get some lessons and had my first one on Monday. Since then I have managed to play 2 rounds with scores of 111 and 118 using what he said.

How long will it take for the tuff he showed me to bed in.
I know it won't happen over night but how long until I start to see some improvements in my game.

Up_Point_1

Head Pro
Visit site
You'll generally (speaking from experience) find that after a lesson your game will go backwards for while. My advice is to persevere with what the pro taught you as it'll all come good in the end. Any swing changes you make will inevitably take a while to bed in. It'll also feel quite odd to start with.

I had a lesson a few years back that highlighted a really strong left hand grip. Pro got me to change my grip to slightly a more neutral one which felt very odd, I then proceeded to shank the next balls 20 sideways. In all honestly it probably took me at least 4-6 weeks to really feel comfortable with the new grip.

Perseverance is the key my man :)

UP1.

USER1999

Grand Slam Winner
Visit site
It depends on how much you practice, how much you remember, and if you have any aptitude.

You will need alot more than one lesson to really see any improvement, and often it will get worse before it gets better.

Tiger Woods has had a few lessons recently, and look where he's at.

Knocker

Medal Winner
Visit site
I realise it will take time and practice and more lessons but was wonderig how long on average it would take til I saw the light.

I normally go to the range twice a week and play on the weekend. Think I'm most annoyed because my dad has beat me. Which he has never done before!

Cheers for the input and will probably see how it is going in 6 weeks

StrangelyBrown

Tour Winner
Visit site