Hitting an object on the green?

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Joined
Nov 1, 2016
Messages
25,366
Location
Watford
Visit site
There was a society on the course this afternoon. On one hole my mate hit a chip onto the green, that would have steamed through the back but it actually hit the 'nearest the pin' marker that they'd left stuck in the green. Is there a rule for this or just take the lucky break and play it as it lies??
 

Colin L

Tour Winner
Joined
May 26, 2012
Messages
5,273
Location
Edinburgh
Visit site
Rue 11.1 applies. No penalty and play the ball as it lies. In your illustration, the player got lucky. Another time, he might be unlucky and get an unfavourable deflection.
 
Top