Four Magic Moves to Winning Golf....HELP!

virtuocity

Tour Winner
Visit site
I am a beginner following the Four Magic Moves to Winning Golf instruction by Joe Dante. I know a lot of pros and players will say that the methods within the book are nonsense, but it seems to work well (so far) for me. I would add at this point that I cannot afford the crazy prices of golf lessons, so pretty much doing this by myself. My main goal is to become an 18 handicapper within 2 years or so.

It basically states that we must do an initial wrist break. This is controversial, but it seems to work well for me. It gets me into the position shown in the first picture.

MOVE1.jpg

I can then easily hit the ball nice and straight nearly all of the time and a reasonable distance (considering the lack of full swing). This inspired me to continue learning along this path to build my swing which I can take on the course for years to come.

My issue is this:

It then states that the left shoulder should be turned whilst firmly keeping our wrists in the same broken position which then leads to the next 2 pictures and keeping our left arm straight.

MOVE2.jpg

MOVE3.jpg

I may be mad, but I just don't understand this. I can't fathom how to physically get to the position shown in the last picture merely by turning my shoulder. Any advice on how YOU would get from image 1 to image 3 would be very, VERY welcome.

(Please keep the "pay for golf lessons" comments to a minimum folks!).

One Planer

Global Moderator
Visit site
Hi there! Book states a LATERAL movement of the hips must be done, not a TURN. It's driving me mad.

Let me clarify what I meant.

When making the swing are you focusing soley on keeping the lead arm straight and forgetting to move you hips?

virtuocity

Tour Winner
Visit site
Perhaps the opposite to be honest. Every brain cell is screaming "BEND YOUR LEFT ELBOW!!!". Is a straight left arm pretty typical within golf swings?

A

Alex1975