Fitting existing clubs

User20202

Visit site
This is my first post so please go easy on me!

First off, I started playing golf again a couple of months ago after a 10 year break when I stopped at age 14. Due to my budget I couldn't get fitted for the new clubs so I opted for finding good deals on clubs at online stores such as clubhouse. I've just completed my full set after picking up three brand new vokeys off Facebook for £225! However, none of the clubs I have are fitted and being 5'4 I feel like this will really be affecting my game. My goal for next year is to get my handicap into single figures and I feel having clubs that fit me properly is important to achieve this.

Anyway, I know I want to get fitted at some point before the spring. My question is would it be better going to a fitter right now already with the new specs I want in my head (.5 inch short and 2 degrees flat), or should I book a few lessons with a coach and have him evaluate me advise what adjustments should be made? I guess people post questions like this all the time but any help would be greatly appreciated!

Curls

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Welcome along, you’re in safe hands.

I don’t mean that most people here are lunatics.

Defo see a coach first, those specs you have arent necessarily what you need, many here have had a fitting - got a spec, 6 months later after heartache get another fitting and totally different spec. At 5 4 you’ll almost certainly need some adjustments, in 5 8 and just about sneak into standard specs, but a lot has to do with your swing and how you impact the ball. For example on a strike board you might be bob on, its all about how you return the club.

Go to a coach that also adjusts clubs, there should be plenty around but if you let folk know what area you’re in on here you’ll get a recommendation or where to go (and not go!)

Best of luck rejoining the game. It’s bloody awesome.

User20202

Visit site
Welcome along, you’re in safe hands.