Fallen trees- what's the rule please?

North Mimms

Tour Winner
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
3,298
Visit site
So a large tree has fallen (from OOB) onto the course, just where many errant balls end up.

I'm sure the greenstaff will get rid of it as soon as they can, but what is the situation in the meantime?

If you hit your ball into the area covered by the tree, and find the ball.
If you hit your ball into same area and can't find ball which might be hidden by the branches on the ground.
You find your ball and can theoretically play it but the tree is in the way.

Many thanks
 
It's not on the fairway. it's in the rough but the geography of the hole is such that less than ideal shots tend to get funneled to the tree area

I mean more in terms of the heath & safety brigades chance of trip/risk of injury.

How would they stand insurance wise?
 
Last edited:
In my case I'd be chopping it up and bringing it home with me. That'll keep the house warm over Winter without having to give the Energy Companies any more money.....:D
 
Play as it lies or take the relevant penalty for unplayable ball unless there is a local rule to cover it i would say ...

more than likely wrong but thats my thought
 
It's not a loose impediment if it's still attached to the ground by the split trunk, ie the trunk hasn't snapped cleanly away but split leaving a section still attached to the roots.
 
If the tree is no longer attached to the ground, it is a loose impediment and may be moved or bits broken off it.

If it is still attached it is not a loose impediment and there is no automatic relief from it. The Committee can declare it to be GUR.

If the staff have already started cutting it up for removal, it is material waiting to be collected and is therefore an abnormal ground condition (ground under repair) and you have relief from it under Rule 25-1b.
 
If the tree is no longer attached to the ground, it is a loose impediment and may be moved or bits broken off it.

If it is still attached it is not a loose impediment and there is no automatic relief from it. The Committee can declare it to be GUR.

If the staff have already started cutting it up for removal, it is material waiting to be collected and is therefore an abnormal ground condition (ground under repair) and you have relief from it under Rule 25-1b.

Thanks everybody.
I haven't been right over to the fence, so don't know if it has cleanly broken or not.

I will check with committee /greenstaff re marking it as GUR until it is removed
 
Top