Draw Bias Or Not?

Chico84

Visit site
I am fairly new to the game having played for just over six months but am really enjoying it. I’ve taken both beginner and intermediate courses of lessons and am now having some one to one coaching which is really progressing my game well.

One area I’m looking to develop is my drives. As with most beginners I have a tendency to slice the ball pretty heavily with the driver (my irons tend not to slice) but with my coaching I’m getting a bit more consistency.

I went for a driver fitting the other day, primarily to see whether a more modern driver than my hand me down 8.5 degree Cleveland launcher would help me any further. This came out with two potential contenders - the Taylormade SIM Max D and the Ping G410 Plus.

My swing is still pretty inconsistent with the driver but I hit some decent shots with both clubs and even began to see a baby draw with the TM. Interestingly I started off with the weight on the Ping in the draw position but found I was hooking it loads so moved it back to the centre. The SIM just about shaded it between the two though.

My question is this - would I be better off working on my swing and getting it more consistently straight and then go and get another fitting or should I go for the SIM Max D now? Is it worth buying a draw biased driver when I seemed to be hitting some good shots with the non-draw biased G410 Plus? I’m assuming (hoping) my driver swing will only get better as I take more lessons so would I be limiting myself with the draw bias club at this stage, or even letting poor form into my swing because the draw bias might hide it?

Genuine questions from a newbie who doesn’t want to shell out £400 unnecessarily on something sub-optimal!

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Visit site