RulesGuy
Member
You putt, the ball hits the flag back onto your putter face and goes into the hole. Apparently happened today in a friendly knock. Any thoughts?
You putt, the ball hits the flag back onto your putter face and goes into the hole. Apparently happened today in a friendly knock. Any thoughts?
Colin
What if the club had been stationery at the time of impact?
That is the nub of itIf no attempt at a 2nd hit is made then I reckon it's now no penalty
I've double hit a sand iron in the past where the club has been stationery at the time of the second impact, where i've got to the end of the swing and the ball has hit the club. So I'd stick with Colins answer personally. If no attempt at a 2nd hit is made then I reckon it's now no penalty
I'm struggling to see how that is possible.
Imo, that wasn't a double-hit, but the ball struck you or your equipment. Before this year, that would have resulted in a penalty.I swung through very quick, the ball went up high but barely forward and on it's way down it hit the blade
1) ?1) If the ball hit the player, then the stroke is cancelled.
2) But hitting his club? Is that part of him or a movable obstruction or what? I'm looking for a reason for cancelling the stroke.
My view is there's not much (or no?) doubt about it?1) 11.1b Exception 2.
2) That just tells us there is no penalty . It doesn't help with how to proceed if the ball bounces back off the flagstick, hits your club (not as a double hit) and goes into the hole. Exception 2 does not mention a ball hitting equipment but doesn't normally need to as any of your equipment lying around is a movable obstruction. You need to take a club in your hand as being a movable obstruction to support cancelling the stroke. Which I think is probably reasonable.
Although of course 20.1.c goes a little further than suggested in post #3...you would also want to replay the shot at the time in medal play, or risk a greater penalty (although in this case there shouldn't be any issues in that regard from the correct ruling)Thanks all. The Preamble called 'Purpose' is pretty clear: 'accidental, hits person equipment or anything else, no penalty, normally accept the result good or bad' I can't see any reason why 11.1.a shouldn't apply. Thanks ScienceBoy for reminding me of rule 20 alas I am the fountain of knowledge the members come to for a ruling
.