Custom Fit Irons in exact specs or budget Irons in close specs (high handicapper)

1995corey

Visit site
Hi. I started playing 6 months ago and am well and truly hooked. Playing at least twice a week and sometimes more.

Started with a Wilson Ultra XD 1" Longer Package set, and have gradually upgraded everything with second hand eBay buys, the last thing remaining is the irons.

Usually shooting anywhere in the 100-110 range and play to a 27HDCP (submitted 5 cards so far).

I've had a couple of 'mini fittings' from 2 different experienced fitters, and have been advised 1.5" longer than standard, 3 degrees upright, and a stiff shaft would be ideal. Current irons are 1" longer and 3 degrees upright with a regular flex shaft. My swing speed with a 7I is about 95 (27/m).

Found some Wilson Staff D7 Forged irons, 5-PW, 1" Longer, S300 130g shaft, standard lie angle, for £340 (budget option). Looking at reviews it's all positive, a very forgiving model for high handicappers but a big step above my cheap package set irons. Only issue is the specs are slightly off. With them being forged I'm guessing the lie angle can be adjusted. The length is supposedly too short but I've been playing with 1" longer just fine so far.

My local pro has also offered to do a set of Srixon ZX5's (Hit these a few times and love the feel), 5-PW, 1.5" longer (never tried hitting 1.5" longer before), 3 degrees upright, and shaft TBC depending on the fitting (he mentioned at my stage 105-120g would probably suit better than 130g). The ZX5 are £800, £500 deposit and 3x monthly payments of £100. Looking online its a competitve and good price, with 0% interest payments to lessen the blow. He is obviously trying to make the sale and is telling me not to go near the Wilson d7's.