Clearing left hip in the down swing - Leg flex question.

One Planer

Global Moderator
Visit site
Experts of the forum, I'm in need of your advice.

Over recent posts of mine, you've probably noticed I'm working on a better hip action in the downswing. It's getting there slowly, but surely, and now I have a question to pose.

In my backswing I have always allowed my right leg to straighten. The knee doesn't lock out, but loses most of its flex.

I've always done this since I started playing and never really gave it any consideration as I felt it gave me a much fuller hip turn.

Now.

At the minute, I've been having difficulty keeping my shoulders from following my hips in the downswing. My first move from the top of the back swing is to get my hips moving left while rotating, clearing my left hip. My problem is my shoulders sometimes follow, taking me over the top, causing a pull.

I did a little practice this morning, focusing mainly on maintaining the flex in my right leg to the top of the backswing. Like this:

image.jpg

When I got to the top, the coiled feeling was much stronger in my right leg than usual and, from the top, I found it easier to turn my hips through and clear the left side while keeping my shoulder out of the swing.

This left me :confused:

Could it be that losing the flex in my right knee and allowing it to straighten could be the source of my problems?

Can allowing your right leg to straighten contribute to an OTT move from the top?

Any help/opinions, as always, are appreciated :thup:

JustOne

Ryder Cup Winner
www.justoneuk.com
Depends on the depth of your hips (at address and top of your swing).