Cleaning the ball, flag in the hole

chickenwings

New member
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
6
Visit site
In a friendly yesterday, all 3 on the green, I marked then lifted and subsequently dropped my muddy ball into the hole as it was half filled with water, just for the purpose of making it easier to clean before then replacing putting out. Someone asked if that was within the rules or not, I can't readily see a reference to it.

Any views?
 
No issues.

Generally if someone starts with "you can't do that" ask them which rule they think you are breaking, or at least what exactly you are doing wrong!
 
That is one of the more bizarre ones. Why would anyone object to that?
When people haven't seen anyone do it before or when it looks a good idea but they didn't think of it - both foster such questions.
When it comes to the rules of golf people seem incapable of that's interesting, or I wish I had thought of that...
 
Thanks for sharing your interest,

There was no objection/angst between us as we are good mates but I have a feeling that under the new rules it is probably not an infringement whereas previously it might have been for the reasons mentioned above.

Going to investigate further if possible and will report back.

Cheers
 
Thanks for sharing your interest,

There was no objection/angst between us as we are good mates but I have a feeling that under the new rules it is probably not an infringement whereas previously it might have been for the reasons mentioned above.

Going to investigate further if possible and will report back.

Cheers
I make a point of not referencing back anymore - it risks confusing.

However, I can confirm that prior to 1960 you would have been penalised for cleaning your ball on the putting green if that helps.
 
I make a point of not referencing back anymore - it risks confusing.

However, I can confirm that prior to 1960 you would have been penalised for cleaning your ball on the putting green if that helps.

Blimey! Not even I was playing prior to 1960.
 
In a friendly yesterday, all 3 on the green, I marked then lifted and subsequently dropped my muddy ball into the hole as it was half filled with water, just for the purpose of making it easier to clean before then replacing putting out. Someone asked if that was within the rules or not, I can't readily see a reference to it.

Any views?

once the ball is marked you can do pretty much anything so long as you dont test the green... poulter posted a video yesterday of a par he got on tour where he marked his ball... picked it up in an angry way and it slipped out his hand into a pond... a local then jumped in.. fished it out and he proceeded to putt it into the hole for par
 
once the ball is marked you can do pretty much anything so long as you dont test the green... poulter posted a video yesterday of a par he got on tour where he marked his ball... picked it up in an angry way and it slipped out his hand into a pond... a local then jumped in.. fished it out and he proceeded to putt it into the hole for par
Ah, but that was so 'last year' - now he can just get out another ball and continue for no penalty.
 
But... was it legal before 2019 given that the hole was part of the line of putt?

I like Duncan's view about not referencing back - but sadly pedantry gets the better of me.

Old decision 16-1a/5 confirmed that the line of putt used to include the hole. And that touching the inside of the hole breached old rule 16-1a. So, I'd suggest that dropping the ball into the hole & picking it out again was most likely a penalty.

But, we needn't worry - the "now" rules are the rules....
 
Old decision 16-1a/5 confirmed that the line of putt used to include the hole. And that touching the inside of the hole breached old rule 16-1a. So, I'd suggest that dropping the ball into the hole & picking it out again was most likely a penalty.

But, we needn't worry - the "now" rules are the rules....

I would agree completely (apart from the most likely bit) 😎
 
Top