Blood donors - a dying breed?

viscount17

Money List Winner
Visit site
We had the transfusion buses on-site recently and they have now published the figures.

Donors - 172 (3 new donors).

There are nearly 1200 people here!

Of the 1100+ who didn't donate a few may have been away or sick and some may be in categories that can't donate but not that many!

I seriously doubt if there's one among them who would turn down a transfusion, so where do they think it's going to come from?

moan over.

AuburnWarrior

Tour Winner
Visit site
I have to admit that I'd like to do it but the thought of watching my blood leaving my body - I know I'd pass out!!!

Poor I know but I'm not very good with injections, etc.

nowtfancy

Assistant Pro
Visit site
try it with your eyes closed? that's what i do!

I was like that - always thought i should do it but always found an excuse, then my cousin needed a load of blood after an accident so the whole family made the effort & go every time.
Plus I get time off work in my current job!

Chrimbo

Head Pro
Visit site
Blood donors are needed more than ever with swine around x

Why?

Because donors can't give blood if they have flu and swine is pretty contagious. So I've heard anyway?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/swine-flu/6050313/Swine-flu-blood-bank-faces-shortages.html

Sorry, I though you were inferring that if you've got swine flu you need a blood transfusion ....

I used to be a blood donor to get over my fear of needles …….. didn’t work even though I went six times and six times.

madandra

Money List Winner
Visit site
I have given 30+ pints and since Olivia was born 6 years ago I haven't had any more tattoos due to the fact you cant give blood for a year.

Isnt it funny how guys will say they hate needles but are covered in tattoos. My wifes bro has 9 tattoos and will point blank refuse to give blood.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site