Beginner's Help

DomSza

Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to golf - I'm not even sure I've held a golf club before. I'm heading to a course with a friend in a few weeks and just wanted to clarify some questions if anyone is able to help.

Do I need to bring my own clubs? I don't particularly fancy forking out for a new set if I only end up playing once.

Do I need a membership to play?

Do I need any other equipment? E.g gloves and shoes.

Thanks!
Dom

Last edited:

woody69

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Should probably post this in the Lounge Forum as you'd get more answers. I'm sure the mods will move it...

In answer to your questions... It depends.

Does your friend play? Are you going as their guest, or are you both first timers?

Do I need to bring my own clubs?
Depends on the club/course you are playing at. A lot (if not all) places will let you hire clubs for a fee. If they can't/don't hire then you can pick up a few clubs with a bag very very cheaply 2nd hand. You don't need many, Just a few irons, maybe a hybrid or a 3/5 wood and a putter. Could probably get a complete set for less than 20 quid on eBay TBH

Do I need a membership to play
Again, depends on where you play. Most courses allow visitors though at certain times and there are plenty of public pay and play course where you don't need to be a member.

Do I need any other equipment? E.g gloves and shoes.
The only other thing you obviously need are balls and perhaps a few tees (but you can usually scrounge some of them from around the tee boxes). Footwear, just go with some comfortable trainers. Astro turf football boots are a good option as they will provide some grip. A glove isn't necessary. Most people use them as they help grip the club. You could probably borrow a glove and some shoes as part of the hire of the clubs if you ask though.

Just say, you're new to the game and want to get involved and I am sure they will do their best to look after you.