beginner

Jaycunn

Hacker
Visit site
HI all, I was just about to go gung ho and take a £200 hit on buying a New set of irons however after some thinking and restraint I started wondering about a custom fit. There is a place near me in Warrington called true fit golf that do it for £25 having not used many sets I think this may be the option as I get to have a go and even if i don't buy clubs from this retailer at least i know m y measurements. I will also be purchasing lesson from here.

So the question is, am I doing the right thing or is it a waste of money for a beginner?

Thanks

Foliage Finder

Head Pro
Visit site
I'm also a beginner, and have got by so far with an old set of hand-me-downs (must be getting on for 15-20 years old) that have suited me fine. Just had them regripped for about 50 quid too which has given them a new lease of life. For learning the basic principles these have been fine, so I'd probably say you could get away without it. Might be better spent on £200 worth of lessons from a pro.

Although having never experienced a club fitting, I can only speak from my own personal experience, so someone else may be able to offer some more guidance :)

ScienceBoy

Money List Winner
Visit site
I got down to 11 and shot in the 70s with clubs bought for me by someone else and were aimed at far better players than me. I didn't even see them until they were in the bag.

The closest to custom fitting was getting the right spin rate on a launch monitor for my drivers.

Its not essential but can really help those significantlytaller or shorter than average at the beginning.

Anyone else its really an unknown if it makes a difference until you feel or can show it has done.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site