Ball out of bounds.....

Davey247

Assistant Pro
Joined
Feb 22, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Darlington
Visit site
...but thrown back into play by a passer-by without you asking.

What would the ruling be? Would you continue to take your shot from the previous spot with your shot penalty, or would the outside interference be seen as a 'rub of the green' and you play the ball from wherever it has ended up?

I guess it would apply to courses which have public footpaths running alongside/through a course.
 
Think of it this way:

Your ball lands in the fairway. A seagull picks it up flies off and drops it out of bounds. Would you play 3 off the tee or replace it on the fairway?
 
Think of it this way:

Your ball lands in the fairway. A seagull picks it up flies off and drops it out of bounds. Would you play 3 off the tee or replace it on the fairway?
If the ball had come to rest then it was picked up by the bird you would replace the ball from where it was picked up. If the ball was moving from the tee shot, then it was picked up and flown oob and droped then its tuff luck.
 
USGA rules...

Q.A's ball was found lying in bounds and A played a shot towards the green. Then a man appeared and said that A's ball had come to rest out of bounds in his garden. He said he had thrown it onto the course and had told A's caddie what he had done. The caddie had not reported this to A. What is the ruling?

A.Under Rule 6-1, A is responsible for his caddie's failure to tell him what the man had said.

A's ball was no longer the ball in play when it came to rest out of bounds. Therefore, it was a wrong ball - see Definitions of "Ball in Play" and "Wrong Ball." When A made a stroke with the wrong ball, he incurred the penalty prescribed in Rule 15-3 and, in stroke play, was obliged to proceed under Rule 27-1.
 
Top