Ball in Drain.

Wildboy370

Active member
Joined
Jan 3, 2020
Messages
183
Location
Skipton
skiptongolfclub.co.uk
Had unusual situation in match last night. One of opponents hit his drive to middle of fairway. We found the pitch mark but no ball. Eventually but in the 3 min limit someone said could it be in the small Drain in fairway not far from pitch mark. Player rolled sleeve up and found ball in bottom of drain.
Question was then asked, should that be declared as unplayable or not as drain part of course ?
No one quiet knew and was decided to allow free drop and play on. So is a ball found in a drain and not sat on surface but a good Half arm length down unplayable or free drop ? It was there as some one had removed the grate cover, which we replaced.
 
Had unusual situation in match last night. One of opponents hit his drive to middle of fairway. We found the pitch mark but no ball. Eventually but in the 3 min limit someone said could it be in the small Drain in fairway not far from pitch mark. Player rolled sleeve up and found ball in bottom of drain.
Question was then asked, should that be declared as unplayable or not as drain part of course ?
No one quiet knew and was decided to allow free drop and play on. So is a ball found in a drain and not sat on surface but a good Half arm length down unplayable or free drop ? It was there as some one had removed the grate cover, which we replaced.
Drains are "obstructions" and (presumably) by default are immovable obstructions. Therefore free relief is available. Your starting point is to determine the spot on the surface directly above where the ball lay. The reference point is the nearest point of relief from there where the drain does not interfere with the ball, the stance or the stroke. The ball is dropped within 1 club length of NPOR. (And of course neither NPOR nor the drop should be nearer the hole than where the ball lay).
 
Had unusual situation in match last night. One of opponents hit his drive to middle of fairway. We found the pitch mark but no ball. Eventually but in the 3 min limit someone said could it be in the small Drain in fairway not far from pitch mark. Player rolled sleeve up and found ball in bottom of drain.
Question was then asked, should that be declared as unplayable or not as drain part of course ?
No one quiet knew and was decided to allow free drop and play on. So is a ball found in a drain and not sat on surface but a good Half arm length down unplayable or free drop ? It was there as some one had removed the grate cover, which we replaced.
Wonder if this would pass the "known or virtually certain" test?

Middle of fairway and presumably no other places for it to be?
 
There's even an Interpretation for it.

16.1a(3)/3 – Application of Rule 16.1a(3) When Ball Lies Underground in Animal Hole
 
Top