Advice on Nike Slingshot HL irons

paulwoody

Visit site
Hi Guys,

Fairly new to the forum. Ive been viewing and reading your comments and i think ive found the place to ask for advice.
I started playing three years ago but last year I didnt play at all.
I currently use Top Flite X2 graphite irons and have been playing ok with these. However, my friend let me use his Nike Slingshot HL irons (reg flex). I was amazed by them. I dont know wether its all been in my head but Ive played 3 rounds with them and each round ive took 8-15 shots off my usual score.
I looked on a website for them and they are being offered for £150, thought my luck was in but then I read that they are stiff flex.
Is it worth me buying these stiff flex irons? Ive been told my swing is pretty fast but im not sure if they will help me at all?
Would you risk getting them?

Cheers

Paul

(Sorry for the long story!!) :D

drawboy

Tour Winner
Visit site
I wouldn't take the risk without first checking out my swingspeed on a launch monitor. Most American golf stores and a lot of ranges have these. If your local AG has one go in and give some clubs a bash then you will know for sure if you can handle a stiff one :eek:
Welcome to the forum by the way, good to have you on board.

RGDave

Money List Winner
Visit site
Slingshot HL....hmm....pretty good irons, easy to use and quite forgiving.
They might suit you. How fast is a fast swing? Clubhead speed and a fast action/tempo are not necessarily the same thing.
How far do you hit your irons? If your 7 goes over 155-160 yards, you could well be suited to stiff shafts.

I played with stiff irons for a while and went back to regular. The reg's are better suited to me, I get a far better trajectory. I hit my 7 up to 150-155.

paulwoody

Visit site
Thanks for the quick reply drawboy, will i be ok to just go in and ask to use their clubs?(Theres an Amican Golf close to me)