• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Abnormal ground condition

ventura

Head Pro
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
352
Location
Huddersfield
Visit site
I came up about a foot short of a green side bunker today, to chip onto the green I'd have to stand in the bunker.

The bunker was flooded so I'd be standing in water. I took nearest point of relief and one club length which was still outside the bunker.

Is this the correct thing to do? I can't see anything in rule 25 or decisions to say it isn't. I'm assuming it's where my ball lies rather than where I'm standing that determines the relief I get?

Thanks.
 
Top