4BBB Ruling

A few years ago in a 4bbb final my partner and I were very close together on the green and our opponents said that I couldn't putt because they were already in the hole for less than I was putting for. I said that it didn't stop me putting and our referee agreed. After the hole which they won, and wrapped up the match at the same time, they were still miffed until I asked them why, instead of making the rules up as they went along, that they just conceded my putt whereby, had I then putted, it would have been a penalty as I understood the then rules
 
I would have thought it's absolutely fine to finish a hole even though you're out of the scoring for it, in matchplay. I did more-or-less the same as this in a match the other week in fact. I played out of a bunker, needed to hole it really to stand any chance of halving the hole myself, but instead it landed very close to my partner's ball - so instead of picking it up, I played the putt to give my partner an idea of the line for his upcoming (more crucial) putt. Our opponents didn't object or anything.
 
I think the earlier posts are talking if that's ok or not . I'm fine with it but I'd have conceded that putt to you anyway to stop from doing exactly that.
I thought you could still putt it anyway if you wanted, after a concession? Or is that only if the entire hole has been won/finished? (Forgive me, I haven't played very much matchplay before this year.)
 
Once the hole is finished you can have a putt if you want, but before would be loss of hole.

Not so. You may putt after a concession but if that putt could help your partner in a four ball match, he or she is penalised but your score would stand. See Rule 23.3:

Exception – Continuing Play of Hole After Stroke Conceded in Match Play:
  • A player must not continue play of a hole after the player’s next stroke has been conceded if this would help his or her partner.
  • If the player does so, his or her score for the hole stands without penalty, but the partner's score for the hole cannot count for the side.
 
Seems a lttlle at odds with itself that one.
Cheers
I'm not with you. It is straightforwardly saying yes, you can play after a concession but if you do and it could help your partner, he is disqualified from the hole. leaving your score from your already completed hole to stand.
 
Last edited:
I'm not with you. It is straightforwardly saying yes, you can play after a concession but if you do and it could help your partner, he is disqualified from the hole. leaving your score from your already completed hole to stand.

Indeed - that does seem the right way to do it - absolutely aimed at preventing a pair 'trying it on' in the hope that the other pair doesn't know the rule.
 
Top