2019 bunker rules.

User 99

Assistant Pro
Banned
Joined
Feb 16, 2018
Messages
1,133
Visit site
Righty, we had a debate about this in the club tonight so looking for the correct ruling.

If we ignore the being allowed to touch the sand when not being part of your shot or practise swing the question raised was, are you allowed to touch the sand on your back swing when about to play your shot ?

Some won't be surprised that I was fairly adamant in what I thought the rule was but others thought different.
 
No, not in a hazard, bunker being a hazard.
You may not touch any sand in the bunker on your backswing before making your stroke (Decision 13-4/31).

Changes to Rule 12.2b in 2019 rules.
 
2019 12.2b
Restrictions on Touching Sand in Bunker
(1) When Touching Sand Results in Penalty. Before making a stroke at a ball in a bunker, a player must not:
  • Deliberately touch sand in the bunker with a hand, club, rake or other object to test the condition of the sand to learn information for the next stroke, or
  • Touch sand in the bunker with a club:
    • In the area right in front of or right behind the ball (except as allowed under Rule 7.1a in fairly searching for a ball or under Rule 12.2a in removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction),
    • In making a practice swing, or
    • In making the backswing for a stroke.
 
Top