When did you have your first lesson?

Hopey84

Club Champion
Visit site
Hello everyone, long time lurker first time poster here.

I was just wondering at what handicap did you have your first lesson and did it make much difference?

I have been toying with the idea of a course of lessons for a while now, mainly because of all the people on this forum saying that it is the best way of improving.

I have been playing since October 2011 and joined my first club in March 2012, I was going around in about 115 at first then broke 100 after about 2 months then broke 90 after about 8 months and have done it about 9 times since, my handicap has come down from 26 to 20 in my first season and I am now regularly shooting low 90s with the occasional bad round near the 100 mark. My best round in a competition was 91.

I just can’t help thinking that I’m never going to be a pro so are lessons really necessary, I have got Tom Watson DVD that covers pretty much everything and a Phil Mickelson DVD that is a more detailed guide to the short game.

The two teaching pros at my club have got very good reputations, John Harrison is a European seniors tour player and his assistant pro JJ Vallely is also supposed to be very good.

I have also heard a few horror stories of people having lessons and completely losing any ability they had which is probably the main reason I haven’t already had a lesson.

What do you all think?

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
I think the fact that even the worlds best still go for lessons indicates that there is a benefit to be had by having them. If nothing else, a couple to check the basics like grip, alignment, posture and the swing itself will be able to confirm whether the bad shots were just that and a result of a bad swing or if they hide a flaw in technique. All about finding a pro you can trust and who can get the message across in a way you understand and enjoy

hovis

Tour Winner
Visit site