United airlines "passenger re-accommodation"

Simbo

Tour Rookie
Visit site
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/www.bbc.co.uk/news/amp/39554421
How the airline authorities allow this kind of thing to happen is beyond me! Airlines shouldn't be allowed to overbook flights, surely this kind of thing is illegal in some form or another, how can they continually get away with selling 320 tickets when they only have 300 seats??? That amounts to a scam in my book.
69 year old man VERY physically hauled from his seat and ejected from a plane simply because the airline needed the seats for its own staff for a different flight.

D

Deleted Member 1156

I also read this article and I find it very interesting. OK, the pilot has the final say on the aircraft however, surely the airline has entered into some sort of legally binding contract when they sold the ticket and allowed the passenger to board the aircraft? I'm not a lawyer but it would be interesting to see what happened if this went to court.

Rooter

Money List Winner
Visit site
as i understand, they did not oversell the flight. The flight was fully booked. However United needed to get 4 staff on board for a transfer. This is pretty normal in the US for the crew to ask for volunteers to board the next flight (usually upgraded, some bonus points, meal etc etc) however this time, no one offered! Now they just picked on this guy and his wife!! Random as hell. The CEO of United has come out today and kind of half apologized, but one of the authority types has now been put on forced leave... Very fishy, i think there is more to it...

CheltenhamHacker

Journeyman Pro
Visit site