Status Bunker When GUR

  • Thread starter Thread starter Deleted member 16999
  • Start date Start date
D

Deleted member 16999

Guest
Help please:
We are renovating a few of our bunkers over winter.
If a ball lands in a GUR bunker were should the player drop his ball?
Behind the bunker in line with were the ball was found and the Pin or NPR, which could be to the side of the bunker.
All comps are non-qualifiers(for info).
 
It is the standard rule 16 Relief for an abnormal ground condition.

I think you are confusing yourself with the rule for taking relief with an abnormal condition in the bunker Rule 16 c,
 
We are doing the same, and the area immediately around and including the bunkers being worked on is GUR. We have designabted DZ's marked out to stop all confusion and questions about it.
 
It is the standard rule 16 Relief for an abnormal ground condition.

I think you are confusing yourself with the rule for taking relief with an abnormal condition in the bunker Rule 16 c,
Not confused, don’t know. Hence the question.
 
We are doing the same, and the area immediately around and including the bunkers being worked on is GUR. We have designabted DZ's marked out to stop all confusion and questions about it.


If you are doing a total renovation and do not want players playing off the surrounding grass as well as the bunker the best option within the current rules is to declare the whole area as a 'No Play Zone'

This saves the need to create drop zones and having a LR saying they must be used . It always does away with the unfairness on a player who finishes on the grass on the green side of the bunker having to drop in the drop zone and having an area of the course which gets an unusual amount of were which in itself will need repairing.
 
Further help:
Reading what Jim put and searching the rules, I found what I was looking for in Definitions:

It states:

When a bunker is being prepared and the committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).


So, to inform the members of their relief options it is now straightforward enough as per Rule 16.1 but is this simply done by putting a note on the notice board and using the reference: Rules of Golf - Definitions, for clarifying the change of status for the bunker

All other notices we have referenced against a number.

Apologies for any confusion and help appreciatted.
 
Further help:
Reading what Jim put and searching the rules, I found what I was looking for in Definitions:

It states:

When a bunker is being prepared and the committee defines the entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker).


So, to inform the members of their relief options it is now straightforward enough as per Rule 16.1 but is this simply done by putting a note on the notice board and using the reference: Rules of Golf - Definitions, for clarifying the change of status for the bunker

All other notices we have referenced against a number.

Apologies for any confusion and help appreciatted.
Sounds reasonable but make sure you are clear that you are clarifying their relief option rather than posting a local rule. This is where most confusion occurs.

Something along the lines of : -

Bunkers as GUR

Please note that when the committee defines an entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker). (See definitions Bunker)

Your relief options are therefore as set out in rule 16.1 b for a ball in GUR in the general area.

Hope this helps
 
Sounds reasonable but make sure you are clear that you are clarifying their relief option rather than posting a local rule. This is where most confusion occurs.

Something along the lines of : -

Bunkers as GUR

Please note that when the committee defines an entire bunker as ground under repair, it is treated as part of the general area (which means it is not a bunker). (See definitions Bunker)

Your relief options are therefore as set out in rule 16.1 b for a ball in GUR in the general area.

Hope this helps
Brilliant, thanks Duncan.(y)
 
We play in our social group “back in line” over the winter. This should make the next shot more difficult as using the NPR means you may be able to drop ‘greenside’ giving an easy chip. Going back in line means you have to navigate the bunker again. I know it’s against the official rules but it works well for our group and we don’t have any club sanctinoed comps or qualifiers over the winter.
 
We play in our social group “back in line” over the winter. This should make the next shot more difficult as using the NPR means you may be able to drop ‘greenside’ giving an easy chip. Going back in line means you have to navigate the bunker again. I know it’s against the official rules but it works well for our group and we don’t have any club sanctinoed comps or qualifiers over the winter.

The OP stated they were GUR, you seem to have just taken them out of play and used your own rule for your social group. Nothing wrong with that providing you fully understand that that's not how GUR is dealt with.
 
The OP stated they were GUR, you seem to have just taken them out of play and used your own rule for your social group. Nothing wrong with that providing you fully understand that that's not how GUR is dealt with.

I know... that’s why it is particular to social games, in winter, when our bunkers are classed as GUR. We can play out of them if we want but they aren’t raked at this time of year, the sand is compacted and they are usually full of deer/dog tracks. For any other GUR we use the normal rule.
 
Top