• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Putt hits Flag - Penalty?

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
35,259
Visit site
Player on green asks for flag to be attended for his putt. FC (not PP) attends flag. Player putts but at precise moment he putts his FC is distracted and doesn't get flag out and putt hits the flagstick . What's the ruling? I can easily imagine a scenario where the FC 'error' could be 'deliberate' and if player penalised could have significant consequences in context of the comp for player, FC or other(s).
 

Thankyou - this from the ruling covers scenario precisely

If B's failure to remove the flagstick was not deliberate (e.g., the flagstick stuck in the hole-liner or B was distracted and did not see A putt), since B was acting on A's behalf, A incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play under Rule 17-3. A must play the ball as it lies. B incurs no penalty.

Ruling that was provided afterwards was in accordance with this. Of course we have to assume 'not deliberate' which would be difficult for Player A to stomach if it happened on the 18th green and resulted in player B winning the match or the strokeplay comp at A's expense.
 
Player on green asks for flag to be attended for his putt. FC (not PP) attends flag. Player putts but at precise moment he putts his FC is distracted and doesn't get flag out and putt hits the flagstick . What's the ruling? I can easily imagine a scenario where the FC 'error' could be 'deliberate' and if player penalised could have significant consequences in context of the comp for player, FC or other(s).

The penalty for the FC , IMO, he should have the flag stuck where the sun don't shine. :smirk:
 
Top