Pulling my shots a long way left

BRISTOL86

Head Pro
Visit site
I'm a total beginner who has not yet had any individual lessons.

I've made good strides in the last week in terms of my ball striking (now hitting about 80% of shots forwards and up) :D but I consistently pull shots off to the left, and quite far left too. I'm making quite a nice contact, in that they go quite a long way, but start left and finish even "lefter" !

I had a group lesson yesterday and the pro said this was because at impact I'm not following through and shifting my weight onto the left foot. Instead I seem to want to stay at address position as soon as I've hit the ball, and am having trouble programming myself to follow through properly.

Just wondered if you chaps had any tips for how I can address this issue? I'm thinking maybe taking an exaggerated "step" with my right foot after impact to get into the habit of twisting to face the target after impact.

Keen to hear your thoughts. Thanks!

CMAC

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
At your address position pull your left foot back so the toe is in line with your right heel, hit mid to high irons with this and don't try and kill it or you'll do yourself an injury. This drill helps promote turning 'out the way' and promotes the correct feeling.

Good luck.

Wooky

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Lot's of things you could be doing, impossible to tell without seeing your swing.
Could be any of the following or a combination of several.

1. Incorrect grip
2. Club face pointing left at impact.
3. Incorrect body alignment to target.
4. No weight transfer at impact.
5. Insufficient body / shoulder turn
6. Arms swinging faster than body is turning.

My_HarrisTweed_Cap

Blackballed
Banned
Visit site
Go and get a lesson or two instead of having rubbish diagnostics on an internet forum.

A decent PGA professional's advice and help is what's required. Not the opinions of a 2, or a 10, or a 22 handicap golfer. That's the best advice you'll get.

In_The_Rough