Slab
Occasional Tour Caddy
The first time I played in a Winter Alliance, a 4-handicapper in my group asked one of the others what club he was going to play on a par 3 before any of us teed off.
Would it be Ok if that Par 3 was the groups 1st hole?
The first time I played in a Winter Alliance, a 4-handicapper in my group asked one of the others what club he was going to play on a par 3 before any of us teed off.
Yes. That would be ok.Would it be Ok if that Par 3 was the groups 1st hole?![]()
Yes. That would be ok.
The prohibition on giving or asking for advice does not apply before a round, while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a or between rounds in a competition. (Rule 10.2a)
A player’s round starts when the player makes a stroke to start his or her first hole. (Rule 5.3a)
The order of play and the format of play make no difference. Any person that has not yet played their first stroke cannot get a penalty for offering advice, nor can anyone that offers advice to a non-started person be penalised.Thanks yeah that's what I reckoned
Just for precision (& fun) if the fourball is Player A,B,C,D, assuming they tee off in alphabetical order and Players C & D are discussing club selection (or other advice) on 1st tee prior to the round starting
Must they cease prior to Player C teeing off or must it cease when Player A tees off?
(I'm guessing comp format might also play a part i.e in an individual comp of if Player C was 'teamed' with Player A)