Practicing During Match Play (Pairs)

Crazyface

Tour Winner
Joined
Feb 27, 2010
Messages
7,809
Location
Cheshire
Visit site
If one person of one of the pairings is out of a hole, are they allowed to practice whilst play continues for the remaing three players during the hole? Eg. Flick a ball onto a green whilst the others faff about, or even have a practice putt, ditto the last senario. I hope I've made my question clear. :D
 
When you say pairs, I assume you are talking about four-ball.

The exception to Rule 5.5b permits a player to practise putting or chipping on or near the putting green of the hole just completed and any practice green, and the teeing area of the next hole.

For the purposes of 5.5b, in four-ball match play a side has completed a hole and is therefore between the play of two holes when both partners have holed out, or their next strokes have been conceded, or the outcome of the hole has been determined. In four-ball stroke play, it is when both partners have holed out, or one partner has holed out and the other cannot better the side’s score.(Clarification 6.5/1)

It is not necessarily dependent on where the other side in the group or the opponents are up to with their play of the hole but the player can't practise while the player’s partner is still playing the hole.
 
Last edited:
Whilst there is no penalty players should act in accordance with Rule 1.2a

• Showing consideration to others – for example, by playing at a prompt pace,looking out for the safety of others, and not distracting the play of another player
 
What is they were to chip onto the green and it helped their team mate?
Hopefully rulefan's pointer to 23.6 or my earlier reference to Clarification 6.5/1 have helped.

Otherwise, we need a bit more backgtound info around this scenario. Where are the two partners in the side up to respectively with their play of the hole? Are both players still 'in it'? Is one partner 'out of it'? Has the chipping partner had his/her next stroke conceded? Is the chipping partner simply continuing play of the hole even though he/she is 'out of it'?
 
Top