Notifiable electrical work

cliveb

Head Pro
Visit site
I believe there are electricians on this forum, so I have a quick question about the rules for notifiable work.

There's a couple of electrical things we want to get done in the house, which I'm capable of doing myself, but wanted to check if they are notifiable:

1. Replace the 2-channel programmer/timer on our heating/water system. All that needs to be done is to remove the old programmer and install a new one. The existing wiring to the programmer can be reused.
I'm pretty sure this isn't notifiable.

2. Add some extra downlighting in the kitchen ceiling, by extending the existing lighting circuit - ie. not adding a completely new circuit to the consumer unit.
I think the regs say that new wiring is only notifiable if it's a complete new circuit.

Can any electricians here confirm?

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
I am not a qualified electrician (just like you a very experienced one).

My understanding is simple from a leaflet picked up when it first came in

Repairs and renewals are allowable without a cert - new circuits not.

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
from an electrician training website

Minor Electrical Work
You are entitled to carry out minor electrical work in your home, as long as you comply with Part P of the Building and Wiring Regulations. But what does that mean for you?

Minor work can include: replacing socket covers, control switches, ceiling roses and replacing cables from a single circuit if damaged; adding additional lighting points to existing circuits; replacing light fitting.

Location in the house is important as some locations such as bathrooms might be excluded

Also from a local council Buildings Reg guide

Electrical alterations