New Iron set for under £300

albie999

Visit site
So, am looking for advice for a set of Irons under £300 (nearer to £200 the better :)). I have been using Ben Ross HTX Irons for the last 3 years (bought Dec 2016), and in the SIM tonight, the head snapped off my 7 iron. Seeing as I already wrapped my 5 iron round a tree last year (and not got it repaired), thought it might be worth looking at a second hand set.

I am lucky to have a Skytrak, so know some of my stats. I am hitting my 7 Iron around 140yds (average-total - up to 150+ at times), with ball speed around 100mph, with a calculated club head speed of 72mph. The Ben Ross were fitted with Regular KBS Tour 90 shaft.

Am not really struck on any particular manufacturer, but don't really know if I should be looking at stiff or reg flex. I also notice that sometimes I get quite high spin numbers

My handicap is around 25, however, only really play 3-4 times a month at the minute, but feel I do have potential to lower this. I have been looking at golfbidder, as do like the idea of being able to try them before I commit to buying them, however, if any other suggestions where to get them from appreciated (especially if they let you try before by)

Here is one of my better 7 iron shots

1587667033806.png

Thanks in advance all :)

BubbaP

Occasional Player of Golf
Visit site
As above. Some other ideas, Cleveland CBX. Wilson D300. Could even stay and try the HTX type R (if yours were previous one)

albie999

Visit site
Yep, tons around .. but needed some guidance. Really wanted to stay away from ebay, as wanted to be able to try before by (and send back if pants lol). Looking around, have spotted the following, all in Reg flex .. thoughts?

Mizuno JPX 850 Forged 5-PW (Model year 2016) - (£290)
Cobra King F8 4-9 (Model year 2017) - (£289)
Callaway Apex 5-PW (Model year 2015) - (£286)
Cobra King F7 6-SW (Brand New) - (£299)