New golfer in need of club advice.(Benross)

Brucey

Visit site
Hey everyone,

I’m new to golf and the forum so go easy on me. After years of hitting balls down my local driving range and persistent persuasion from friends I’ve finally decided to take my golf a little more seriously and start having some lessons and get some clubs.

I recently went into American Golf for a custom fitting and to see what sort clubs were in my price range. I’m a smidge over 6’3’’ so was shaped up for a longer set and larger grip of the Benross Delta X.

So my question is…are Benross a good brand/make for beginners? I can’t find many reviews of them online. I’m just a little lost overall, do I buy this set new? Or do I jumble together some ‘better’ secondhand clubs cheaper?
Thanks

hairball_89

Club Champion
Visit site
Benross are great. I have a whole bag full. Same tech as the big boys but no players to sponsor, so cheaper overall. They have started to creep up in price over the last few years though.

However, I would caution an American Golf custom fit - they seem to be hugely hit and miss. I would talk to the pro you are having lessons with and see what they suggest. What clubs are you playing with now?

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Benross are very good club makers. At one time they made a range aimed at all handicap levels but now mainly concentrate on beginners and mid handicap players.

If you go second hand you will still probably need to buy clubs with an upright lie and a longer shaft length.

Go to ping.com and do an online static fit to get a rough idea of what your fit is.

big_matt

Assistant Pro
Visit site
They are good clubs. Loads of options though. sub70 are £400 for a fitted set of irons and are meant to be great. Pxg 0211's are now £80 a fitted iron.

So dont feel like benross is the only option cheaper than the big manufacturers.