My left hand is an alien! Help please.

A

Alex1975

My first pro that looking back was very good had me pull my club from the top of my back swing with my left hand. I don’t think he ever said why as I was a beginner and was more trying to make the swing than understand it. I remember him saying to me “when you are at the top of your back swing and are ready to start the down swing pull straight down with your left hand as if you were pulling on a bell cord” I remember doing it and it working well for me and since forgot all about it.

I then about nine months ago had a lesson with a pro who said to me “I only teach the left side of the body I consider anything on the right side a waste of time” I never took another lesson with him as I thought it was a crass thing to say(I am not so sure now).

In the last month I have talked to my Pro and a friend who helps me and I have shown them the calluses on my right hand at the bottom of my index finger and both have looked at me like I was mad and asked me how the hell I have them there when it should be doing nothing. I thought they were nuts, how could one or part of your hand not be doing anything when swinging a golf club. My pro moved my thumb on my right hand from the centre of the shaft to the left side (out of the way) and still I had not re-explored the left hand leading thing I want to ask you about. Fundy and I finally got to talking about it briefly last Thursday and I asked him, would you want me to lead with my left hand and he said he would rather that then the right hand.