Iron Suggestions for a relative beginner

cambridge

Hacker
www.caddystats.com
Hi,

I've been playing golf on an off for over 10 years, started to really get the bug for it again last year though and have started playing at least once a week.

I've decided I deserve to upgrade my clubs and as such have been on the look out. I'm finding it fairly difficult to decipher what irons would suit a player like myself. I don't have a handicap, I go around my local 9 holes averaging late 40s - mid 50s.

The purpose of the clubs are to improve my game and get a handicap.

From my research, and price range (looking at eBay) it seems that I can pick up a set of over size ping i3 irons for around £100. I'm budgeting for a house deposit at the moment so my budget probably sits at a max of £150, not a lot I know.

Obviously the i3's are around 15 years old now - should I be worried about this? From what I've read their a forgiving club which is nice to play and If i can get a hold of a decent set I should.

Can anyone recommend anything else? Am I thinking along the correct lines?

Cheers,
Sam

Dan2501

Tour Winner
Visit site
If you're going to go for Ping, go for the G series, so whether that's G10, G15, G20 or G25, whatever you can afford. You'll find them more forgiving than the i range.

Rooter

Money List Winner
Visit site
yeh 2nd hand for that budget, you have the Ping G range, G5, G10, G15. Taylormade Burner 2.0 you could probably get for budget, Callaway X12,18,20. even seen TM RBZ irons on ebay for your budget!

Why not try your local American Golf, Dircet Golf etc or even local clubs. Many will have used sets for sale, and this way you will get to try before you buy which is very important!

cambridge

Hacker
www.caddystats.com
yeh 2nd hand for that budget, you have the Ping G range, G5, G10, G15. Taylormade Burner 2.0 you could probably get for budget, Callaway X12,18,20. even seen TM RBZ irons on ebay for your budget!