How long till I start playing well?

la_lucha

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Guys i've been playing casually for a few years but struggle to get around 100. I went on Saturday and tried a different putter that didn't work for me (so i won't be using it again) and got 60 front 9 and 52 back 9.

I joined a club 2 weeks ago and have been/intend to keep playing at least 27 holes a week. 1 18hole round and at least 9 holes. How long do you think it'll take me to consistently hit under 100 so I can get a handicap?

n.b. our club requires at least 1 card under 100 to give a handicap.

A

Alex1975

How much will you practice, what are the weak points of your game, how many balls are you losing?

Do you have a video of your swing we can see?

This is a kind of "how long is a piece of string" thing...

la_lucha

Tour Rookie
Visit site
Practice wise will be time on the course and maybe 1 visit to the range per week. I can hit a ball really well and I can make it go where I want it to.....50% of the time, the rest are drops, tops and overshots.

When I went round Saturday I lost 1 ball and that was an overambitious shot shot at a green instead of laying up. It's just consistancy that's my problem really. It's this that i wonder how long it will take to come.

rosecott

Money List Winner
Visit site
You have to manage the course with the shots you are capable of playing reasonably consistently. As you progress, you will have more shots in your armoury that are consistent and your scores will come down.

la_lucha

Tour Rookie
Visit site
You have to manage the course with the shots you are capable of playing reasonably consistently. As you progress, you will have more shots in your armoury that are consistent and your scores will come down.

I'll be honest and say the failed shot at the weekend was more cause it was into the ferocious wind than because I couldn't make it. I was about a yard from actually carrying the water as intended.