Help for newbie required please

kev_off_the_tee

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Firstly hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and you could say I'm still new to golf after only picking up my first 7 iron 12 months ago.

Please be patient as I think it's best to give you a run down of things so far.

I was asked to be best man at a friends wedding and later found out his stag do was a golf weekend. I'll admit now that I would never have got into golf if it hadn't of been for this weekend (so glad it happened). I used his Ben Sayers M2 irons once or twice at the driving range then decided needed a set of my own. Due to restricted funds I bought a complete set of Dunlop Max clubs plus hybrids with graphite shafts.

I know it was a rushed decision but in all honesty I'm consistently hitting between 20-25 above par at Longhirst Golf Club, better than some experienced amatuers/seniors I play with.

Towards the end of last year I had a few lessons and was told I had an aggressive swing and that a stiff shafted 9 degree driver would do wonders for my slice. I bought a Yonex Cyberstar driver with stiff shaft and noticed a difference right away (range only as friends wouldn't play during winter).

I also picked up wilsons version of the odyssey 2 ball putter (the blackjack) and 2 Ram tour grind X wedges (52 & 60 deg).

I was also told to ditch the Dunlops as quickly as possible and was given a set of wilson Fatshaft MK2 irons (535 graphite shaft) by someone who had upgraded.

firstly, how would everyone grade the Wilson irons and secondly if I were to upgrade what would everyone recommend

Budget wont be huge but it's my birthday mid april so I'm hoping to be prepared and tell by fiance what to get me.

Thanks in advance

Kevin

Spinn77

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Hi Kev

You'll get a big response on this I would have thought.

My advice would be to try as many irons as you can at the range - they should have demo clubs that they can make available to you.