Grounding your putter

Golfer71

New member
Joined
Feb 24, 2019
Messages
1
Visit site
I played a match yesterday and my opponent quietly mentioned to me that I grounded my putter and someone could call me up on it,

I’m confused, so I address the ball, take my stance, and hit the putt, where did I go wrong? My only assumption is I grounded my putter before taking my shot, I would really welcome clarification on do’s and donts on grounding the putter and when is acceptable,

Thanks in advance,
 
Next time ask him what rule you would be pulled up 👍
 
In case you are not fully clear from these replies, the person was talking cobblers 😁. LP's post is a good one for situations like that 👍
 
Also if you were grounding it Bryson Dechambeau style then the other player is probably right, someone might mention it :LOL:
 
I would really welcome clarification on do’s and donts on grounding the putter and when is acceptable,

Thanks in advance,

There are no dont's about grounding any club other than in a bunker. See Rule 8.1b(4} which states that you are allowed to ground the club lightly right in front of or right behind the ball.

The only thing you need to be aware of is that you mustn't exert extra downward pressure on your club which might improve your lie or your line of play. Just let the club rest on the ground under its oown weight and you're fine.
 
Something in the back of my mind relates to this. And goes something like this .
If , having taken your stance, you ground your putter and the ball subsequently moves before you play it, then there is a penalty. If you had not grounded the putter and the ball moves, then there is no penalty

This may be completely wrong, but no doubt a rules expert will correct if ''tis wrong.

Edit. I was right it seems. I found an article quoting Jack Nicklaus who stated that he sometimes did not ground the putter at address on windy days in case the ball moved. If it did he incurred a penalty.
Google " Hover at address"
 
Last edited:
Something in the back of my mind relates to this. And goes something like this .
If , having taken your stance, you ground your putter and the ball subsequently moves before you play it, then there is a penalty. If you had not grounded the putter and the ball moves, then there is no penalty

This may be completely wrong, but no doubt a rules expert will correct if ''tis wrong.

Edit. I was right it seems. I found an article quoting Jack Nicklaus who stated that he sometimes did not ground the putter at address on windy days in case the ball moved. If it did he incurred a penalty.
Google " Hover at address"

This is referencing the pre 2019 rules and the pre 2016 available local rule re ball moving on a green and no longer applies.
 
Top