First lesson

Airlie_Andy

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Well I've finally booked myself in for my first lesson and I'm not really sure what to expect? I'm pretty much self taught using the Internet for tips on grip etc but having recently seen my own swing for the first time I realised I needed professional help. Anyway my lesson is for next Monday so 2 questions really;

1. Is it worth me going to the range again before the lesson or should I just wait to see what changes I'll need to work on?

2. What kind of thing should I be looking for? Start from scratch to try and build a really sound swing or ask the pro to just tweak what I already have?

Mattyboy

Tour Rookie
Visit site
The first thing to remember is that you paid for it - so enjoy it. On the assumption that its a swing lessdon, I would suggest warming up before hand so that you dont spend (waste) the first 10 minutes doing so. The pro could suggest minorish changes or big changes, depending on how much time you have to practice them. Theres no point in taking apart what you have if you havent got the time to really work on the changes and have a series of lessons.
Go along and enjoy.

SocketRocket

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
You must have an idea what you want a lesson for, make sure you explain clearly what it is you want to achieve. The Pro will probably look at your setup and ask you to hit a some balls with a mid iron, he will then be able to advise you on what he considers the best way forward.

Do warm up with some balls before you start the lesson and relax.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site
Definitely warm up before the lesson starts but don't get bogged down in swing thoughts. Just try to loosen up and find a nice rythmn. Personally I wouldn't do any range work, certainly on trying different things or making changes as I'm sure the pro will make adjustments. Perhaps just play this weekend and swing easily knowing help is coming

Garesfield ACE

Tour Rookie
Visit site