Driver problem but with a strange solution...

Shanks a lot!

Assistant Pro
Visit site
Ok, I am relatively new to the game (around 8 months) and have only just started breaking 100 consistently.
One of the main problems at the moment has been driving, and getting the ball into play on the fairway. I have found that a lot of drives have been slices.
Today though, I have stumbled upon a solution for myself (not saying it will work for everyone) and wondered if anybody could explain to a layman why it works?
I set myself into a draw position, with the ball slightly back in my stance (maybe a balls worth) and my shoulders and feet aiming right, yet the ball didn't really draw, just went straight down the middle of the fairway! Did this for the last 8 holes with the same results. Made things so much easier, yet I am puzzled as to how it's not drawing but going straight?

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Welcome to the wonderful of 'why did that happen'!

Assuming that by 'draw position' you mean with the shoulders and feet aligned to the right (right handed), it would seem that both your swing path and face angle at impact are pointed down the middle. This sort of matches with 'normal' setup where your sub-conscious adjusts slightly from that same path/face angle to avoid a straight pull and turns it into a pull fade/slice - starting left first.

Swing path can be hard to change, but this Head-cover drill can help. Face angle will adjust pretty much automatically - as your timing and brain/hand co-ordination adjust to the changes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CdlTSLH3n10

Good Luck!

AxelBenito

Assistant Pro
Visit site
I have been driving the ball fairly straight for a couple of months, now suddenly I have a huge slice. I have not changed anything that I am aware of, but went onto youtube and found a good video which mentioned trying to keep the left wrist flatter through the back swing. Worked for me, give it a try.