Distances...A really good exercise.

ColinR

Head Pro
Visit site
Many of you may have already done this, but as I'm fairly new to serious golfing ( 1 year ), it was new to me.

I went to the Club practice area with about 175 balls last night with the objective of getting an accurate measurement on my iron distances.

Starting off with a 7-Iron, I hit about 25 balls. I then walked to where the balls had landed, there was of course a spread. I then grouped all of the balls to the place which I determined to be the centre of the spread. That now being my average 7 Iron distance.

I then did this individually for the rest of my irons from PW through 5-Iron.

At the end of this process I had clumps of balls showing me the spread of my irons and now feel I have a much more accurate feel of my distances.

Not rocket science I know, but very helpful. Considering you can pick up 200 decent practice balls for about £15.00 on ebay, well worth it.

B

birdieman

Good idea but you need to do this with the ball you play in tournaments. A bucket load of pinnacles/top flite will give you much more distance than a quality ball like a ProV1 or HXTour which is designed to stop.

ColinR

Head Pro
Visit site
Good idea but you need to do this with the ball you play in tournaments. A bucket load of pinnacles/top flite will give you much more distance than a quality ball like a ProV1 or HXTour which is designed to stop.

Totally agree. I bought 200 Titleist balls, I know they are a mixed bag, but it has given me a general rule of thumb on my Iron distances. As a golfer, I feel I am better equipped today than I was yesterday as a result of this exercise.

HomerJSimpson

Hall of Famer
Visit site