• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Continuation of a match.

backwoodsman

Tour Winner
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
7,269
Location
sarf Lunnon
Visit site
A theoretical question.

Two players in a match start from the 1st hole and complete the 18th and are all square. They agree it is too dark to continue so fix a time to resume. But the earliest (or perhaps, only) time they can manage is at a time when, under club rules, 2balls must start on the 10th.

Is it permissible for them to continue from there?
 
Am i right in thinking that the RoG only cover "continuation" in as much as saying "committee may extend the stipulated round" etc as under 2-3. And the rest is down to club rules?

Reason for asking is that our regulations of play say ".. if all square ... play shall continue from the tee where the match started..."
 
Am i right in thinking that the RoG only cover "continuation" in as much as saying "committee may extend the stipulated round" etc as under 2-3. And the rest is down to club rules?

Reason for asking is that our regulations of play say ".. if all square ... play shall continue from the tee where the match started..."
Either under club rules or by the players themselves if the club has no set procedure.
 
Top