Clothing & Footwear - 12 years on

kev_off_the_tee

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Morning folks, I'm slowly getting back to golf after nearly 12 years away and decided it's time to get some new threads. What the hell has happened?

Trainers with astro turf grips are being sold as golf shoes, you can actually buy golf joggers and some trousers can't only be described as "paint-on" leggings style. I know there was talks about modernising things and making it appeal to a new younger generation but bloody hell 😳 😂

jim8flog

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Clothing in general - it now very hard to find trousers that are not narrow at the ankles.

I have been resisting buying new trousers for a few years now (unless essential) for that reason. Sadly so many of my remaining pairs have had to be thrown away as they became only suitable for wearing on a Sunday.

Orikoru

Tour Winner
Visit site
Luckily for you, it's not compulsory to wear those things. More choice is never a bad thing. :)

The shoe advancement is the best thing in my opinion. I remember my first golf shoes when I was 14, they looked like office brogues with spikes on the bottom. God awful uncomfortable things.

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Visit site
GM just done an article here using J Day as an example

Re spikeless, Couples wore his ecco's back in 2010 (I think) so these can't be described as new anymore, not even by the 12 year golf absence of the OP

On clothing I hope Tour players (male and female) continue to push boundaries and styles, we could do with more players not just taking the dosh to wear mainstream xyz (doesn't mean i want to see everything shouty loud, but non-standard styles are welcome to see)

Oddsocks

Ryder Cup Winner
Visit site
I don’t get spikeless shoes for many reasons:

1) they don’t offer the same grip on any form of damp / wet ground.

2) with the cost of decent shoes now well over £100, as soon as they are worn you bin them!