Carrying someone else's club

North Mimms

Tour Winner
Joined
Apr 22, 2012
Messages
3,299
Visit site
Playing a match today, i pulled out P wedge to play my shot and realised it wasn't mine.
However my club was in my bag, so used that ok.

Waved at group ahead to say we had picked up a spare club, and was it theirs?
It wasn't, but they took it to see if it belonged to group ahead or else they would hand it in to pro shop after nine holes.

As we walked after our tee shots on the next hole, I discussed with my opponent that I couldn't work out when I picked it up, then realised that it must belong to my friend that I played with a few days previously, ie, I had started the round carrying the extra club.

I only had 13 of my own clubs in my bag, so this extra one did not put me over the limit of 14.
If I had been carrying 14 of my own, would I have been penalised for this extra club?

If you start a round with your full complement of 14, and pick up someone else's club they have missed, you wouldn't be penalised for being helpful.

(This extra Pitching wedge would have been no use to me, I had my own - and a custom club designed for a man 8" taller than me with large hands and therefore grip would have been very hard to hit!)
 
If you start with 14 clubs and find someone elses, there's no problem about picking it up as long as you don't use it.
However if you start with your own 14 clubs and someone elses, then you'd be breaking the rules.

(This extra Pitching wedge would have been no use to me, I had my own

You can never have too many wedges :whistle:
 
If you did find a club on the ground & put it in you bag with the intention of returning it or handing it in , surely your playing partners would see you find it or you would tell them , in my opinion if that put you to 15 clubs it would be a bit harsh for someone to call you up on it ..

If how ever you forgot to hand it in & it was a conforming club (even if not suited to you) & started the next round with the 15 clubs , you would have to accept the penalty IMO ..

something puzzels me a small bit tho , surely if you had picked it up today one of ye would have remembered it , & if you hadnt picked it up today it was un likely to be belonging to the group ahead .. ??

Just as an add on has anyone here ever counted another player /opponents clubs ?.. cant say as i have ever done this , i reckon you could have 20 in there & i wouldnt notice ..
 
If you start with 14 clubs and find someone elses, there's no problem about picking it up as long as you don't use it.
However if you start with your own 14 clubs and someone elses, then you'd be breaking the rules.



You can never have too many wedges :whistle:
Just as well I had left my lob wedge at home!
 
something puzzels me a small bit tho , surely if you had picked it up today one of ye would have remembered it , & if you hadnt picked it up today it was un likely to be belonging to the group ahead .. ??

.

I didn't really think it through!... and passed it on to the group ahead while they were still within easy distance.
My excuse was that I was concentrating on the match!:thup:
 
Afaik if you pick it up just declare it as a club you won't be using in the round (can't remember exact phrasing). If you started with more than 14 next round if you forgot to remove it then yes it's a penalty.

I've also never counted someone's clubs nor will I ever do so, honour prevails.
 
Believe me you know when you have more than 14.

I went out with my 14 plus two that I wanted to try out from the pro shop - Ping Anser 3 wood and 20 degree hybrid.
All the way round I struggled to see what club was where because of the extra head covers.
 
Carrying a club which another player has lost is fine.

Decision 4-4a/8 Retrieving Another Player's Lost Club

"Q. A player carrying 14 clubs found another player's club on the course. He picked up the lost club, put it in his bag but did not use it, and handed it in at the pro shop when the round was completed. Was the player in breach of Rule 4-4a for carrying 15 clubs?

A. No"

Short and sweet!

Just make sure you don't use it.
 
I'd like to ask an aside to this:

Given that rules say its fine for playing partners to put all clubs into one bag (as long as each is clearly identifiable) So up to 28 clubs in the same bag

Can a player also include a fellow competitors clubs into their bag in the same way?
 
I'd like to ask an aside to this:

Given that rules say its fine for playing partners to put all clubs into one bag (as long as each is clearly identifiable) So up to 28 clubs in the same bag

Can a player also include a fellow competitors clubs into their bag in the same way?

Hmmm.. got me scratching my head.

The Decision (4-4a/4 Partners' Clubs Carried in One Bag) refers to partners in a foursomes comp and makes no reference to carrying a f/c's clubs although on face of it the principle would seem the same (or is it???).

Need Colin or Duncan I think.
 
I'd like to ask an aside to this:

Given that rules say its fine for playing partners to put all clubs into one bag (as long as each is clearly identifiable) So up to 28 clubs in the same bag

Can a player also include a fellow competitors clubs into their bag in the same way?

The rules only state the number of clubs you are to start with not the method of transporting them. You could have each club carried by young ladies in bikinis if you really wanted. You basically have the 14 you want they have their 14, they just happen to be in the same bag but you have only selected 14 for use. If you accidentally use of of the competitors clubs then you fall foul. This is because by using the competitors club you have basically selected a 15th club for play. Think the reason there is no decision directly related to this is because when would such a situation actually arise in a competitive round.
 
The rules only state the number of clubs you are to start with not the method of transporting them. You could have each club carried by young ladies in bikinis if you really wanted. You basically have the 14 you want they have their 14, they just happen to be in the same bag but you have only selected 14 for use. If you accidentally use of of the competitors clubs then you fall foul. This is because by using the competitors club you have basically selected a 15th club for play. Think the reason there is no decision directly related to this is because when would such a situation actually arise in a competitive round.


I am afraid I have to disagree - with most of this :)

1. you could have all your clubs carried by one young lady, but even 2 gets you a penalty for breach of 6-4; each would constitute a caddy (by definition) and you are only allowed 1 caddy.
2. 6-4/3 is worth reading to see just how much transporting clubs comes into the rules!
 
Hmmm.. got me scratching my head.

The Decision (4-4a/4 Partners' Clubs Carried in One Bag) refers to partners in a foursomes comp and makes no reference to carrying a f/c's clubs although on face of it the principle would seem the same (or is it???).

Need Colin or Duncan I think.

I think the issue is that by carrying the FC's clubs you become his caddy - but you can't be his caddy because you can't give advice - this suggests that you can't carry his clubs. 6-4/8 tells us that you can caddy for a FC as long as it's at a different time.

Specific rules apply when a cart is shared, and in this case 2 players, one bag, one cart would seem to be acceptable providing that the clubs are clearly recognisable.

More opinion that definitive - but if a decision clearly covered it you would have found it!
 
Lol misread and then interpreted decision 4-4 a 16. Dam stuff shirts not allowing me to have 14 girls carrying my clubs.

Depends on what Mr Jameson's thinks. Now is there a rule about drinking a posting. Beginning to think there should be. :mmm:
 
Top