Bargains in Guitars and stuff.

Paul77

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
I reckon I've been playing the guitar for about 21 years now. Been in bands and all sorts years ago and did a few open mic nights here and there for kicks and giggles but haven't owned an electric guitar and amp for ages. Last one was a Gibson Les Paul Ebony Standard, and Epiphone Spotlight quilted Maple. Both amazing guitars.

Neighbour annoyances and no time meant I had to punt it all and settle for an acoustic and it's been that way ever since. I don't know what made me go on Gumtree at the weekend but I picked up an absolute bargain. A Yamaha Pacifica 012. Basic entry level Pacifica for £20. Crazy.

Also picked up a Marshall MG50DFX solid state amp with footswitch for £60 too. The guitar needs TLC so I've gone on the prowl and bought all new hardware for it, and will swap the pickups out for Iron Gear Hot Slag to replace the bucker at the bridge. Sounds like a good pickup and for £28 you can't complain.

Changed days for guitarists these days with all the help online. Looking forward to it :)

patricks148

Global Moderator
Visit site
not a day goes by without me checking or ebay or Gumtree for vintage guitars.

and you are right about the interweb, you can now pull up how to play stuff in an instant... a long way from listening to records and trying to figure it out yourself.

Im more a vintage guitar type myself, and had a fair old collection back inthe 80's and 90's... all that stuffs long gone now.

but have started again in the last few years.
now have a couple of Gretsches and a fender Jaguar and a Jazzmaster, plus a couple of valve amps

Paul77

Challenge Tour Pro
Visit site
Nice one. I love valve amps. My uncle has a load of stuff. He tends to collect them. Mean player also, mostly blues.

My Spotlight was a 1985 model and I loved it. My ex-wife made me sell the lot of it and Royal Mail damaged the guitar in the delivery truck. Snapped the thing in two. It was a sad day.

patricks148