Ball dropped hits position marker

SwingsitlikeHogan

Major Champion
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
35,251
Visit site
Just quick check on this one.

When taking relief or a penalty drop I have marked relief position using a tee - if my balls hits the tee after I drop it I re-drop.

1) Is this the case regardless of whether or not the ball hit the ground first - before hitting my tee
2) If a dropped-ball hitting the marker tee then runs more than two club lengths from the tee after hitting the tee - does the drop 'count' as one of two times you can drop before you can place. My feeling is that it would not because as soon as the ball dropped hit the tee, then whatever might subsequently have happened to the ball is irrelevant.
 
Just quick check on this one.

When taking relief or a penalty drop I have marked relief position using a tee - if my balls hits the tee after I drop it I re-drop.

1) Is this the case regardless of whether or not the ball hit the ground first - before hitting my tee
2) If a dropped-ball hitting the marker tee then runs more than two club lengths from the tee after hitting the tee - does the drop 'count' as one of two times you can drop before you can place. My feeling is that it would not because as soon as the ball dropped hit the tee, then whatever might subsequently have happened to the ball is irrelevant.
Suggest that you read the definition of "equipment" which excludes any small object, such as a tee, used to mark the extent of a dropping area. Then look at Rule 20-2a and 20-2c.
 
Suggest that you read the definition of "equipment" which excludes any small object, such as a tee, used to mark the extent of a dropping area. Then look at Rule 20-2a and 20-2c.

OK - without checking I had counted the tee as 'equipment'. Will go read.

OK read - I thought i was wrong about the two clubs lengths as soon as I had finished typing - but didn't change it, so yes - it's the point it hits the ground that matters not where you stick your 'measurement' marker in the ground.

On the dropped ball hitting my tee (marker) - as I thought - the tee is equipment - the clarification I get from rue 20-2a is that I re-drop it as many times as is necessary.

And I believe I am correct in saying that as soon as my ball hot my tee then the ball is dead and it is completely irrelevant the fact that it might then roll more than two club lengths from where it hit the ground.

I think I was right - other than the point relating to two club lengths - which I knew anyway ....

I didn't know for a FACT that I could drop as many times as necessary to complete an unimpeded (by own equipment) drop, but I think I would have worked out what to do if it had ever happened to me.
 
Last edited:
OK - without checking I had counted the tee as 'equipment'. Will go read.

OK read - I thought i was wrong about the two clubs lengths as soon as I had finished typing - but didn't change it, so yes - it's the point it hits the ground that matters not where you stick your 'measurement' marker in the ground.

On the dropped ball hitting my tee (marker) - as I thought - the tee is equipment - the clarification I get from rue 20-2a is that I re-drop it as many times as is necessary.

And I believe I am correct in saying that as soon as my ball hot my tee then the ball is dead and it is completely irrelevant the fact that it might then roll more than two club lengths from where it hit the ground.

I think I was right - other than the point relating to two club lengths - which I knew anyway ....

I didn't know for a FACT that I could drop as many times as necessary to complete an unimpeded (by own equipment) drop, but I think I would have worked out what to do if it had ever happened to me.
Did you read the definition of equipment which specifically EXCLUDES any small object, such as a tee, used to mark the extent of the dropping area?
The tee is NOT your equipment.
 
On the dropped ball hitting my tee (marker) - as I thought - the tee is equipment - the clarification I get from rue 20-2a is that I re-drop it as many times as is necessary.

And I believe I am correct in saying that as soon as my ball hot my tee then the ball is dead and it is completely irrelevant the fact that it might then roll more than two club lengths from where it hit the ground.

Not sure what you are reading in what way to conclude as you have

Try 20-2a/7 which covers the issue precisely
 
Top