Advice/drills needed to stop my head from dropping on backswing

IanPozz

Visit site
Hi, I've been playing golf for 18 months and have made steady progress but I've hit a wall which is causing me endless amounts of frustration. No matter what I do, try or change, my head drops massively on my backswing which leads to incosistent ball striking and it's impeding my progress so I thought I'd seek the advice on here.

I've attached a photo showing me at the top of the backswing with a red line indicating where my head was at the start of the swing.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Ianphoto.jpg

Foxholer

Blackballed
Visit site
Seems to me that that's about where you should be! Perhaps slightly too low, but not a lot.

So It's more likely that you set up position is wrong.

To really check, it's better to show your impact position and as long as that's 'right' then that's pretty much the place to use for reference. It's quite likely that you mimic your address position more though.

Have a look at some of the Pro swings - Donald or any of the South Africans. They generally do things a very 'classic' way (Donald's hand twitch excepted).

If you really are dropping your upper body, it's quite possibly as a balance to taking the club back too flat and/or inside. Hard to tell in a single snap - a video would show better.

IanPozz

Visit site
Hi Foxholer, many thanks for your reply. I've attached a video of my swing.

[video]youtube.com/watch?v=M6e5DbN93SM[/video]

Doh

Journeyman Pro
Visit site
Looks to me like your head/upper body should be staying down a little longer. You seem like coming out of the shot to quick. This just my opinion and I am not an expert.

the_coach

Journeyman Pro
Visit site