• We'd like to take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Holidays and a very Merry Christmas from all at Golf Monthly. Thank you for sharing your 2025 with us!

Recent content by effayjay

  1. E

    Greensomes wrong ball

    It’s alternate shots so Player A’s drive must be hit by Player B or vice versa.
  2. E

    Greensomes wrong ball

    Both players drive. Both balls land in roughly the same location. The pair decide to play the ball driven by player A. Player B then mistakenly plays his own ball. I know that it’s a two stroke penalty, but who plays which ball next? I think that player B should play player A’s ball as...
  3. E

    Player plays wrong ball after picking picking up provisional ball.

    All your assumptions are correct. That clarifies things nicely. Thank you.
  4. E

    Player plays wrong ball after picking picking up provisional ball.

    Medal round. Player hits tee shot into trouble. Plays a provisional ball from the tee. Original ball is “found” so the player picks up the provisional ball and continues with what he thinks is the original ball. After three further shots the player marks his ball on the green and, on picking it...
  5. E

    putting an improperly replaced ball on the green

    In a stroke play round Player A chips onto the green and then returns to his bag to collect his putter. Unbeknown to Player A, and without informing him, Player B marks Player A’s ball to enable Player B to play. Player A’s ball is dropped on the green a few feet away. Player B puts out. Player...
  6. E

    Relief when unreasonable and winter rules.

    No we don’t play qualifiers in the winter.
  7. E

    Relief when unreasonable and winter rules.

    so if the ball is right up against the trunk (and no shot sideways or otherwise, can be taken). if the 6 inches makes a sideways shot reasonable and the ball is still in the ACC is free relief availabl?
  8. E

    Relief when unreasonable and winter rules.

    At our course we have winter rules that allow preferred lies in the rough. A players ball lands behind a tree, the ball is lying in ground that an animal has been scratching at. The position of the ball is such that a shot towards the green is impossible so no free relief when clearly...
  9. E

    Internal OOB

    Sorry missed the first bit, I assume so.
  10. E

    Internal OOB

    It’s reasonable and, on balance, will probably be at least as accurate an indicator as looking between 2 posts 30 yards apart.
  11. E

    Internal OOB

    The former.
  12. E

    Internal OOB

    Two fairways adjacent to each other. There are no white stakes, ditches or walls to denote OOB but the card states that if a ball lands on the wrong fairway it is OOB. Is this OK?
  13. E

    Practice on the course

    I was the OP on that thread ,it was an interesting ride!
Top