Scotty_Tom
Assistant Pro
Yesterday we had a team game against another club, in the singles in the afternoon I was drawn against a 3 handicapper, we were having a really good game, level through 14 holes and then this happened (didn't ruin the game mind!)
Our 15th is a short par 4, trees down the left, OB down the right, you have to walk back to the 15th tee from the 14th green, so our caddies walked up the hole a little, my caddy to the left, his caddy went right. There was a strong swirling wind, he hit the fairway, I hit a poor 2 iron that drifted on the wind and was heading OB, no hope for a straight bounce, it was going to one hop and then OB. It hit my opposition's trolley and kicked straight out of bounds.
We were game 3, game 2 was already finished, game 4 was 3 holes behind, we were out in the middle of nowhere. Both didn't really know what the situation was, we stood talking for a minute. I said that my ball was going OB, poor shot, it was gone. He said he thinks he could possibly be penalised as it hit his trolley, I thought he was right but thought it would be harsh as it was a poor shot and heading OB anyway. We decided that I would hit another from the tee as if it was my first.
With my 'second' I missed the green, didn't get up and down and lost the hole, he then won the next and won the game 2 up (halved the 17th). Im not questioning the result, we agreed on the tee and proceeded with that agreement and im happy with that. Just wondering what the actual rule is in that situation.
Our 15th is a short par 4, trees down the left, OB down the right, you have to walk back to the 15th tee from the 14th green, so our caddies walked up the hole a little, my caddy to the left, his caddy went right. There was a strong swirling wind, he hit the fairway, I hit a poor 2 iron that drifted on the wind and was heading OB, no hope for a straight bounce, it was going to one hop and then OB. It hit my opposition's trolley and kicked straight out of bounds.
We were game 3, game 2 was already finished, game 4 was 3 holes behind, we were out in the middle of nowhere. Both didn't really know what the situation was, we stood talking for a minute. I said that my ball was going OB, poor shot, it was gone. He said he thinks he could possibly be penalised as it hit his trolley, I thought he was right but thought it would be harsh as it was a poor shot and heading OB anyway. We decided that I would hit another from the tee as if it was my first.
With my 'second' I missed the green, didn't get up and down and lost the hole, he then won the next and won the game 2 up (halved the 17th). Im not questioning the result, we agreed on the tee and proceeded with that agreement and im happy with that. Just wondering what the actual rule is in that situation.