Yet another OOB query

Slab

Occasional Tour Caddy
Joined
Nov 20, 2011
Messages
12,738
Location
Port Louis
Visit site
Must be the time of year for it...

White blobs are OOB stakes and you’re playing with yellow balls

A is the ball position of your tee shot and B is your provisional (you played a provisional because the location of ball A was not visible from the tee)

What's your next shot?

OOB query.jpg


edit: the grass/course is the green bit :D
 
Must be the time of year for it...

White blobs are OOB stakes and you’re playing with yellow balls

A is the ball position of your tee shot and B is your provisional (you played a provisional because the location of ball A was not visible from the tee)

What's your next shot?

View attachment 16789


edit: the grass/course is the green bit :D

are the OOB posts connected by a fence?
 
A is in bounds, surely, unless those posts are connected by a fence or there is a line on the ground to denote OOB that follows that curve.
 
Must be the time of year for it...

White blobs are OOB stakes and you’re playing with yellow balls

A is the ball position of your tee shot and B is your provisional (you played a provisional because the location of ball A was not visible from the tee)

What's your next shot?

View attachment 16789


edit: the grass/course is the green bit :D

How is the OOB margin defined in the local rule?
If there isn't one (ie the stakes do in fact define the margin), ball A is not OOB but B is. A is the ball in play.
 
Yeah there's no fence and no painted line, just the stakes

Simply that the area being marked as OOB is not a straight edge to it, i.e garden of an on-course property
 
Yeah there's no fence and no painted line, just the stakes

Simply that the area being marked as OOB is not a straight edge to it, i.e garden of an on-course property

Hack it out of the garden and pick up Ball B.
 
Hack it out of the garden and pick up Ball B.

That's what I did, it just felt wrong being a foot in the garden but not OOB when the sole reason for the stakes is to protect people going into the garden (not written down just my assumption)
 
That's what I did, it just felt wrong being a foot in the garden but not OOB when the sole reason for the stakes is to protect people going into the garden (not written down just my assumption)

If they wanted to protect the garden then they should have ensured that the stakes made a line that kept the entire garden OOB.
 
You need to find out what the Local Rules say about OOB and the boundaries of the course.
Although your ball is technically in bounds according to your diagram, I'd be surprised if someone's garden is within the boundaries of the course.
My guess is that you will find out that it's OOB but it hasn't been marked properly.
 
The boundaries of the course are as defined by the committee. As shown in the diagram, the boundary includes some of the adjoining property as part of the course. Unless the Local Rules define the boundary in that area in such a way that it follows the curved line between the two properties, a ball can be lying on a neighbour's land and be in play. You would have to play it as it lies or deem it unplayable if playing it seems too unneighbourly.

Parts of some courses do not have a boundary. But if what is next to it is the Atlantic Ocean, it doesn't matter too much; if it's Mr Smith's prize collection of roses, it does.
 
Thanks all I'll read the card & LR's in more detail when I'm there on Sunday

The boundaries of the course are as defined by the committee. As shown in the diagram, the boundary includes some of the adjoining property as part of the course. Unless the Local Rules define the boundary in that area in such a way that it follows the curved line between the two properties, a ball can be lying on a neighbour's land and be in play. You would have to play it as it lies or deem it unplayable if playing it seems too unneighbourly.

Parts of some courses do not have a boundary. But if what is next to it is the Atlantic Ocean, it doesn't matter too much; if it's Mr Smith's prize collection of roses, it does
.

Course for Saturday has a couple of holes just like that i.e they run right next to the Indian Ocean with a yard of 1st cut the only thing to stop a rolling ball, but not white staked as a boundary so I've seen guys play off the sand if the tide's out. It's just like any ol' water hazard :)
 
Thanks all I'll read the card & LR's in more detail when I'm there on Sunday



Course for Saturday has a couple of holes just like that i.e they run right next to the Indian Ocean with a yard of 1st cut the only thing to stop a rolling ball, but not white staked as a boundary so I've seen guys play off the sand if the tide's out. It's just like any ol' water hazard :)

The Pacific Ocean at Pebble Beach is Lateral Water Hazard. The far side of which is Hawaii.
 
Top