wrong score in matchplay

seretide

Newbie
Joined
Aug 10, 2007
Messages
1
Visit site
In a recent club competition, format foresomes matchplay, our opponents on holing out said that they had played 6 shots and as they had a shot on that hole stated that their score was 6 net 5. we were 8ft from the hole for 5 shots so we picked up our ball and moved to the next tee, before anyone teeing off we challanged their score for the last hole, they admitted their mistake but said because we picked up our ball it was their hole, after some discussion they agreed to let us replace our ball and play our shot, we missed the putt and they claimed the hole.

They won the match by one hole.

Can anyone let me know what should have happened and can i challenge the result.
 
I think you should of challenged it before you lifted your ball. I think it's to late now for you to do anything about it. In matchplay they shouldn't of holed out while you still had an 8 footer, unless you had given them the putt. I look forward to hearing how you get on.
 
Rule 9.2 says:

"Wrong Information
A player must not give wrong information to his opponent. If a player gives wrong information, he loses the hole. "

This implies to me that as soon as your opponents gave you the wrong information, they lost the hole. The fact that you picked your ball up after that would then be irrelevant because they'd already lost.

The question is, do you think they did this on purpose or was it an honest mistake??
 
i agree with muttleee your opponents lost that hole because of their error,it would also have been sporting of them to hold their hands up and gave you the hole,every one has different morals yours are intact!
 
Been there, done that!

Now I have a rules book in the bag at all times and have a well thumbed copy of the Descicions book which gets a wee read every so often.

Matchplay catches us all out because we are so used to rules for strokeplay events on a more regular basis.

DB
 
Top