Wrong green

Find the nearest point that's not on the wrong green and drop within a club length(iirc)...Or 20 inches in a couple of years time..😕
 
Find the nearest point that's not on the wrong green and drop within a club length(iirc)...Or 20 inches in a couple of years time..😕

Just to refine that a little, you must take relief only if your ball is on the wrong putting green. Interference to your stance or area of intended swing is not included. Consequently, the nearest point of relief is where the ball is clear of the green: it doesn't matter if your feet would be on the green or if your swing would be over the green.

Watch out for a local rule that includes the apron as part of the putting green!
 
Just to refine that a little, you must take relief only if your ball is on the wrong putting green. Interference to your stance or area of intended swing is not included. Consequently, the nearest point of relief is where the ball is clear of the green: it doesn't matter if your feet would be on the green or if your swing would be over the green.

Watch out for a local rule that includes the apron as part of the putting green!

Colin..
This is an area that could be simplified.
Sometimes when you take relief you have to take full relief and sometimes you don't...
Am i right in thinking that you have to take full relief from GUR?
What's the reason for that when, in the OP, you don't from a wrong green..?
 
You always have to take full relief from GUR except in a bunker. In the case of a wrong putting green, full relief means that the ball is clear of the putting surface, stance and area of swing not coming into it. That's because stance and area of intended swing aren't included in the original interference. It has an internal consistency and there are other instances where you might exclude stance and swing - but it is as you find it, complicated..
 
Last edited:
Full relief means relief from the "interference" in the situation. The rule will specify what interference is. In this case rule 25-3a defines it. Stance is not interfered with by the wrong putting green, only the ball. GUR interference is defined in 25-1a and includes stance and swing.
 
Colin..
This is an area that could be simplified.
Sometimes when you take relief you have to take full relief and sometimes you don't...
Am i right in thinking that you have to take full relief from GUR?
What's the reason for that when, in the OP, you don't from a wrong green..?

Notwithstanding the other answers, there is a sort of logic that can be applied to it. GUR is, as it's named, ground being repaired. Therefore appropriate that we're not allowed to tramp all over it, nor to hack lumps out of it with a club. But with a wrong green, there's no real issue with standing on it, just not ok to take a divot out of it when you play a shot. Hence stance and area of swing don't need to be included??
 
Notwithstanding the other answers, there is a sort of logic that can be applied to it. GUR is, as it's named, ground being repaired. Therefore appropriate that we're not allowed to tramp all over it, nor to hack lumps out of it with a club. But with a wrong green, there's no real issue with standing on it, just not ok to take a divot out of it when you play a shot. Hence stance and area of swing don't need to be included??

But for consistency and simplicity, it might be better if the relief situations were the same as abnormal ground conditions.
 
It's more about simplifying things.
It's another, on the face of it, unnecessary difference that needs to be remembered
Wouldn't it simpler if, when taking relief from anything, you take full relief from whatever it is you're taking relief from..?
The R&A want to simplify rules - this would be no easy one to change.
 
GUR is an abnormal situation. there is nothing abnormal about a wrong green...except the quality of the player's course management. :whistle:
 
You always have to take full relief from GUR except in a bunker. In the case of a wrong putting green, full relief means that the ball is clear of the putting surface, stance and area of swing not coming into it. That's because stance and area of intended swing aren't included in the original interference. It has an internal consistency and there are other instances where you might exclude stance and swing - but it is as you find it, complicated..

I take it you still have the option of playing from the GUR if you wish, or has that changed?
 
Some clubs seem to like to confuse matters when during the winter they have temporary/winter greens in and out of use.
They introduce a Local Rule declaring greens not in play to be GUR.
 
Why do you think that is ? What is similar between AGC and a wrong green?

I didn't say they were similar; merely suggesting that, for simplicity, the relief procedures could be the same.
The local Rule for protecting young trees uses the relief procedure in Rule 24-2 (immovable obstructions) but that doesn't deem the trees to be immovable obstructions.
 
Top