Wrong drop question

bladeplayer

Money List Winner
Joined
Mar 6, 2011
Messages
9,146
Location
Emerald Isle
Visit site
Sorry if this has been asked
Player drops from shoulder height then remembers new rule drops again plays on all ok as ball not in play after wrong drop. .. yes ?
Cpl of questions please
1. Player drops shoulder height plays a stroke then realises mistake. Stil no penalty as ball was not in.play or penalty ??

2 .. player drops wrong. finishes hole out say 3 more shots .penalty or No penalty as per last Q?? but can he go back and finish hole after proper drop . ?


3. Player finishes round and realises his mistake b4 signing card . S'ford just scratch hole .. strokeplay is there an option to add a penalty or is it dq

Thanks
 
Player drops from shoulder height then remembers new rule drops again plays on all ok as ball not in play after wrong drop. .. yes ?
Cpl of questions please
1. Player drops shoulder height plays a stroke then realises mistake. Stil no penalty as ball was not in.play or penalty ?? Ball was in play, player gets a one stroke penalty if the ball was within the relief area, two stroke penalty if the ball had rolled outside the relief area.

2 .. player drops wrong. finishes hole out say 3 more shots .penalty or No penalty as per last Q?? but can he go back and finish hole after proper drop . ? See above for penalty situation, no need to go back.


3. Player finishes round and realises his mistake b4 signing card . S'ford just scratch hole .. strokeplay is there an option to add a penalty or is it dq. Add the appropriate penalty to the hole before returning the card.
 
1. The ball is in play once it was hit with the addition of a penalty shot.
2. as per 1 and he cannot go back
3 The player should amend the score with the penalty added for the hole before handing in the card not DQ for STBLFD.

Note to any body having already read my reply I changed General penalty to one shot

Rule reference 14.3 b

If the player does not drop again and instead makes a stroke at the ball from where it came to rest after being dropped in a wrong way:


• If the ball was played from the relief area, the player gets one penalty stroke (but has not played from a wrong place under Rule 14.7a).


• But if the ball was played from outside the relief area, or after it was placed when required to be dropped (no matter where it was played from), the player gets the general penalty.
 
Last edited:
Top